I Sure Hope DDay’s Fucking Right About This Shit

March 22, 2008

DDay posted something really, really interesting over at Digby’s blog a few days ago that made me stop and say, “Holy fuck!!” PhysioProf has definitely been hard on Obama about some of his “not liberal” and “bipartisanship” rhetoric. Those of us with a non-insane wackadoodle perception of reality are, needless to say, just a little fucking leery of the idea that the right-wing scumsucking shitmonger douchecornets that have spent the last 30+ years completely destroying every single fucking decent thing in the universe and replacing it with their obscene theocratic oligarchic partisan hackfuck perversion of humanity would have any place at the table where non-sick-fuck adults are going to have to sit down and figure out how to keep the ship of state from plummeting over the falls and completely destroying this nation and its citizens.

Well DDay has presented a very interesting and extremely appealing interpretation of Obama’s recent BEST SPEECH EVAH!!11Q!!11!!!11 that sheds some potentially encouraging light on those fears:

[I]t’s a progressive critique of the class-based economy, wrapped in a larger critique of these ritualized resentments that keep everyone apart. I don’t know or really care if it will work electorally; but it was vital that it is said on a big stage out loud. The “bring us together instead of drive us apart” thematic of the Obama campaign has been viewed by some as a kind of high Broderism, as a false sense that through bipartisanship people with different ideologies and beliefs can work in harmony and peace. That misunderstands things a bit, in my view. Obama is talking about bringing together those Americans who already share the same beliefs but have had wedges driven between them. There’s nothing particularly novel about this concept but we’ve been so rightly skeptical of messages of unity that I think it’s gotten muddled.

DDay’s interpretation is that Obama is really talking about being a candidate who will bridge across race (and maybe gender, sexual orientation, religion, etc) to forge a powerful majority that is unified by the fact that its members are not among the ridiculously small class of neo-feudal corporate oligarchs (and their assorted despicable scrotum-licking hangers on–Yes, mainstream media and Jeebus-loving theocrat shitbags, I’m talking to you!) who have benefited from absolutely depraved conservative social, military, and economic policies. The members of this putative massive majority and their families and friends are the ones who have been fucked and fucked and fucked again by depraved right-wing conservative politicians and the sick-fuck policies with which they have dishonestly pummeled them in the fucking face, over and over and over again.

I sure hope Dday’s right about this shit, and that Obama is successful. Because if Obama’s candidacy is not about forging a powerful new electoral majority based on complete utter repudiation and remediation of the class war that inhuman conservative bastards have waged on ordinary decent Americans over the last 30+ years–and is only based on Obama’s personal charisma and rhetorical skill–then nothing substantial will change. If Obama’s own personal political power wanes, we will have our necks right the fuck back under the boot of the goddamn right-wing oligarchy. We need a lot more than just another fucking Bill Clinton this time.

8 Responses to “I Sure Hope DDay’s Fucking Right About This Shit”

  1. Mad Hatter Says:

    “Those of us with a non-insane wackadoodle perception of reality are, needless to say, just a little fucking leery of the idea that the right-wing scumsucking shitmonger douchecornets that have spent the last 30+ years completely destroying every single fucking decent thing in the universe and replacing it with their obscene theocratic oligarchic partisan hackfuck perversion of humanity would have any place at the table where non-sick-fuck adults are going to have to sit down and figure out how to keep the ship of state from plummeting over the falls and completely destroying this nation and its citizens.”

    I am so happy to hear someone say this. That is, other than me, quietly in the privacy of my own home, so the rabid unity-fans don’t beat me with sticks. Problem is, I’m not quite ready to believe the massive non-sick-fuck majority Obama may or may not unify actually exists. See, I was convinced Bush couldn’t possibly win re-election. And then the sick fucks started pouring out of the woodwork. There’s always more of them than I could imagine in my worst nightmare.

  2. juniorprof Says:

    I think the massive non-sick-fuck majority exists. Most members of my family have been aligned with the wackaloons electorally for some time but they are sick of getting fucked over and over again. The wedge is real, but it is overcomeable and I see wackaloon enablers all around me who are strongly wavering in their allegiance and they are wavering because of Obama. Some progressive ideals are starting to sprout out of the heads of these wackaloon enablers and I think they are enjoying the liberating feeling that comes with not being so concerned about your tax bracket (and the delusion that they are — or could be — in the highest one) and actually starting to realize that government can, once again, help the everyday family have an everyday life.

    My concern is that Mr Morton (the FN’s blog is gettin to me) will wack-a-mole the progressive ideal sprouts back out the other end into the shitbin with the fear hammer — a strategy that has proven remarkably effective with the wackaloon enablers I know (especially the ones living in the middle of nowhere surrounded by fucking cows).


  3. It should be noted that many of Obama’s campaign contributors are among the “ridiculously small class of neo-feudal corporate oligarchs (and their assorted despicable scrotum-licking hangers on–Yes, mainstream media and Jeebus-loving theocrat shitbags, I’m talking to you!) who have benefited from absolutely depraved conservative social, military, and economic policies.” I actually know some of them (my wife works for laywers).

    I’m not holding my breath.


  4. i love your fucking run-on sentences
    8-)

  5. PhysioProf Says:

    No wai! My sentensez are compleetlee grammaticalz!

  6. apalazzo Says:

    Obama spent time as a community organizer in the Southside while Clinton was hobnobbing.

    PP, Obama is just using the ole’ Bushie trick but in reverse. He’s a uniter not a divider. All the middle of the road know-nothings will vote for him … and BAM! it’s the second coming of FDR (yeah a pipe dream – so sue me!)


  7. Much though I adore ranting loudly and frequently about the inanity of the right, religious or otherwise, it does disappoint me that so many Dems have given up on Kansas et al. I think Dean had it right with his 50-state strategy (don’t give up anything without a fight), and Obama’s continuing with his own (hello, Alaska!)

    A good example of Hillary working on the middle-ground strategy was her thing a few years ago about trying to make abortion more rare. Left-wing nut job though I am, I applauded that effort (http://www.nytimes.com/2005/01/25/nyregion/25clinton.html) ; it’s not like I think abortion is a *goal*. That’s what we have in common with the Nebraska crowd. Why don’t we ever talk about that?

    My sense of Obama is that he genuinely wants this to be the sort of thing he does. Yes, I’ve drunk that Kool-Aid, but you know what else? I’m tired of all my lefty friends saying things like, “Religious people are insane.” They’re not (always), but we’ve let the evangelist wackos take over and frame the debate. Obama’s trying to reframe it on our own terms: Yes, affirmative action irritates a lot of people, and understandably so. That doesn’t mean it’s wrong; it means we need to talk about how to improve poor white trash folks’ lives as well.

    (he said it a bit better than that, which is why he’s running for pres and I’m not)

    Anyhow. Obama gives me the sense that there really is a greater good. Hillary gives me the sense that there really is a way to have a disappointing female Dem candidate for president.

  8. Piled Higher, Deeper Says:

    Y’all ObamaAide junkies will enjoy this:

    http://prettyharddammit.blogspot.com/2008/02/obama-obsession.html


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 39 other followers

