Foul Language And Civility

April 1, 2008

PhysioProf has been giving a lot of thought lately to the issue of foul language and civility. Many people have commented that PhysioProf’s constant use of dirty words detracts from his message, and turns off many of the very people that he is seeking to reach out to and influence. After ruminating very long and very hard about this issue–and the legitimate very firmly stated concerns of many readers and potential readers–I have decided that this is correct. There are many people out there who might agree with what I have to say, but are turned off by my excessive purely gratuitous use of foul language.

Accordingly, my days of incessant swearing are over, not only here, but also at DrugMonkey and in the comments I leave at many other blogs. I consider this an important transition for PhysioProf, a maturation, if you will, and I seek the assistance of my readers in keeping the tone down in the comments as elevated as it will henceforth be up here.

23 Responses to “Foul Language And Civility”

  1. Ewan Says:

    Bravo. You also gain the benefit that when profanity *is* used, it carries more weight :).

  2. Ewan Says:

    Of course… my assumption that April Fools cannot occur past noon may be culture-specific ;-)).

  3. jre Says:

    Et un bon poisson d’avril à vous, cher professeur!


  4. Delurking. If I’d read this in my reader on another date I’d be fucking devastated! You’re my foulmouth hero ;-)

  5. April Says:

    I hope it’s April Fools because I love the languages you use. Sometimes fucked up stuff needs to be called fucked up.

  6. larue Says:

    Yer phrellin kiddin us, right? *G*

    I’m not one to consider cussing in public as an attractive thing for others to overhear. I cringe when I look back and recall my teen years when NOTHING I said came out without a fuck or a shit. We all thought we were so street kewl . . . turns out, we were offensive as hell.

    But in the blogosphere, I think there’s a LOT of room to just VENT that which we began to suppress as we grow into adulthood.

    Cussin in public, bad taste anymore.
    Cussin at work, foolish!
    Cussin at yer loved one’s, shameful.

    Cussin in the blogs? There’s room for it, methinks.
    But if that’s the gist of the conversation, then cussin becomes worthless, once again.

    Fuckin ay, ya know?


  7. Brave try, but just not fucking good enough. You need to take some fucking lessons from fucking DM.

    OK, this
    —“and I seek the assistance of my readers in keeping the tone down in the comments as elevated as it will henceforth be up here”—-
    was pretty fucking funny.

  8. bikemonkey Says:

    AM, didn’t you read the comments at D’Monkey? PP is still licking his wounds from being so severely taken in pwned by the DM.

    /ducks, covers

  9. PhysioProf Says:

    Back in your cage you doggone monkey!

  10. the Rev Jerry Gloryhole Says:

    If you drop cursing, do I have to drop blasphemy?
    Fuck.

  11. oriole Says:

    Excellent decision, my good fellow. When the next fornicating wackaloon perpetrates some sort of excrement, he’ll truly realise what an anus he is when you decorously refer to him as a waterjet primate rather than (I blush) a douchemonkey, as was your wont in your precivilised past. Let’s all work together to make this the most Goddamned, fucking well-mannered blog in the whole fucking blogosphere.

  12. bayman Says:

    Fucking A! A new niche opens up for the next foul-mouthed motherfucker-in-waiting to dominate the fucking science-geek blogosphere. I’m ON that shit…I’m gonna be sooooo famous!

  13. WereBear Says:

    Cursing is truly an art form; sadly lacking in our society.

    For instance, I find myself in despair over the lack of vocabulary and imagination in our young ones.

    It takes some serious chops to combine and correlate disgusting actions, far-fetched practices, and character aspersions while keeping the rhythm and power required.

    Teach us, oh PhysioProf.

  14. bayman Says:

    make the BAYMAN is on that fucking shit…

  15. juniorprof Says:

    You’re ruining your blog. Just so you know.


  16. That demented fucking wackaloon PP has let Miss Manners have the key to his blog!

  17. PalMD Says:

    Go fuck yourself. I can’t fucking believe you’ll give in to the fucking language morality police. If you do, you’re a fucking shriveled scrotum in the crotch of teh tubes.

  18. Cherish Says:

    What have you been smoking today?

  19. George Smiley Says:

    Thank the Baby Jeebus that tomorrow is April 2.


  20. When I see that shit, I’ll believe it. By the way, my brother loves yer shit, whackaloons cracks his ass up.
    So until radioactive sea monkey’s start flyin outta my ass, I’ll just continue to verbalize any fucking thing that comes to mind.Like I would fuckin change anyway, sheeit.

  21. idlemind Says:

    Oh, darn you all to heck.

  22. crowlie Says:

    ROTFLMFAO

    I guess that would be a ‘no’ then?

    Too fucking funny.

    And yes, there is space for profanity in the blogosphere. There are already unlimited numbers of people pointing out kindly and patiently where smegma snorkelling wackaloon douchmonkeys are completely fucked up with an absence of appropriate adjectives, but you do it with real style and no one listens to them anyway.


  23. [...] seem to give a flying fuck about evocative language on blogs they host. Actually, as part of my totally fucking hilarious April Fools joke, I changed “fuck” to “heck”, and I just forgot to change it [...]


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 37 other followers

