Open Letter To Google

January 23, 2009

Dear Google:

It is totally motherfucking chapping my ass that there is only a single Google login that can be active on a given computer at a given moment in time for *all* Google apps: mail, reader, apps, calendar, etc. This is a total fucking pain in the ass for people who use multiple different Google accounts for different purposes.

Thank you for your attention to this matter, assholes!

Best regards,

Comrade PhysioProf

16 Responses to “Open Letter To Google”

  1. pinus Says:

    Have you tried running 2 browsers (firefox & chrome (or Safari if that is your scene))?

  2. sciencegirl Says:

    You can use different Google accounts in different browsers. Still a pain in an ass.


  3. This is why you need different browsers.

  4. AG Says:

    Hey PP, as some others have suggested you can run two browsers.

    Or better yet … two different profiles of the same browser. For example, with no browsers open, “firefox -ProfileManager” in Windows/Linux — probably the same on Macs too. Once you create two profiles, you can set FF to always ask which profile you’d like.

    I can think of good reasons why allowing multiple logins on the same browser process can be a bad thing (for Google’s apps).

  5. x-ine Says:

    I run into this problem too and I find it ridiculous to have to open more than one browser, especially since I am currently running Chrome, hate Explorer, and have given up on Firefox because it kept crashing on me.

  6. LostMarbles Says:

    Yes.

    I’ve done the Firefox + Chrome thing and it’s a bit annoying. I wonder if there is a Firefox add-on for Google like the one for Livejournal that sits at the bottom of your browser and allows you to magically flip between accounts. If there isn’t, someone need to make it NOW.

  7. Chris Says:

    You can try the CookieSwap extension for firefox. It will allow you to switch between several sets of cookies, thus mulitple google logins.

    Homepage: http://cookieswap.mozdev.org/
    Mozilla addon page: https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/3255

  8. Arlenna Says:

    I have this problem all the time–and my other google account uses my real name, so I always have to delete the comments I accidentally make under that login. So, if anybody comes across a mysterious self-deleted comment in a friend’s blog, IT MIGHT BE ME.

    I don’t feel like dealing with multiple browsers…

  9. DuWayne Says:

    You can get all your mail from up to five accounts forwarded to one. If you don’t like that idea, use a server from school to set up a domain or two, and run gmail through your own domain. Then you can open multiple accounts in the same browser. You should be able to do that without changing send to address.

    I have been assured by my google tech friend that they are working on it, but that it’s not as simple as it sounds like it should be. He explained it some, but it makes about as much sense to me, as someone speaking Russian.

  10. Beaker Says:

    Couldn’t you set up your computer’s mail program to read your multiple Gmail accounts via IMAP?

    Doesn’t solve the problem for reader, apps, and calendar, however.


  11. Doesn’t solve the problem for reader, apps, and calendar, however.

    Which is exactly what I give a fuck about.


  12. Your life is tough, I feel sorry for you.


  13. this is way too complex for me

  14. Amol Says:

    I was searching for how many others are facing same google account problem…. And I came here….

    You are right, Its really a pain to maintain multiple google accounts…. I am not sure why google is not taking this problem seriously…

  15. Hating Google accounts Says:

    They (Google) finally realized that people need to be signed in to multiple accounts so they have provided an option to allow multiple account logging…but it is still worthless. Even worse if your company is a corporate Gmail….my company email address…the one I used happily for years with all sorts of Google services is tagged corporate and corporate accounts are not allowed for Google+, google groups and a slew of other services. So now I have a corporate account for Docs and Gmail, a separate one for AdSense (even though I use that exclusively for work and via my corporate account they still forced me to create a new gmail account for adSense…DUH ADSENSE IS A CORPORATE SERVICE) and yet another a THIRD STUPID GMAIL ACCOUNT to log in to google +. Totally ridiculous. Worse still, there is no way or means to tag an account as the “default” so functions in Chrome like searching your docs or calendar from the omnibar are constantly searching the wrong place. I am logged in to two accounts one has NOTHING – ZERO in docs, the other has 1,000s of items. In Chrome, I hit docs then tab to search and guess what Google searches the empty account and I have to switch to search the right one. Search again….and guess what it STILL SEARCHES THE EMPTY NON CORPORATE ACCOUNT. NO matter how many times I switch, search is still defaulting to the wrong account. What a pain.

    Incredibly frustrating Google. Get your entire ish together please.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 37 other followers

