Wedding Glurge

August 1, 2009

This fucking video is making the rounds of teh Internetz and everyone is all like, “Oh, how this restores my faith in humanity, blah, blah, blah”.

I don’t find this shit endearing at all. It is actually self-aggrandizing bullshit that is driven by a Youtube arms race for the “bestest most awesomesest cutesest wedding shit evah”. Blecch.

19 Responses to “Wedding Glurge”

  1. Fixer Says:

    Bad form and low class, but far be it for me to pee on anybody’s sunshine. I betcha they’re embarrassed when they look at the video 10 years from now.


  2. Meh. I liked it. Too many wedding are all pomp and traditional and boring. If that were my wedding I would totally NOT be embarrassed 10 years from now. I think you’re just turning into an old grouch PhysioProf.

  3. Sara Says:

    The great thing about weddings (unless you have overbearing parents or something) is that you can do it however you like. I can’t even get through this clip because I find it too boring, but I think it’s great that these people like what they did for their wedding. I liked how I did my wedding (short, sweet, and small). To each their own.

  4. terrifiedtabetic Says:

    jeezus, PP, who fucking cares??? It’s just a fucking wedding.

  5. pinus Says:

    I say who cares…different strokes for different folks.

    my wedding was as traditional as it gets…but it was for my wife. I would have been happy to run away and elope.

  6. Catharine Says:

    It used to not make sense to me why people have weddings. My partner and I were married at the courthouse, on a Tuesday, I think.

    Now it doesn’t make sense to me why people get married at all.

    Dreadful video. Just dreadful.

  7. scribbler50 Says:

    Curmudgeons all… I thought it was wonderful!

  8. terrifiedtabetic Says:

    two weddings later, i still have fucking glass stuck in my feet…

    How did both wives manage to convince me to go barefoot???

  9. Tracey Says:

    THANK YOU, Physio. I would be with the “who cares” folks, but it seems lately that all of cyberspace is in love with these people, and I just don’t get why.

    The thing that gets me is how anyone could find a Chris Brown song romantic in any way.

  10. scicurious Says:

    You know, it’s kind of not very classy, but I would TOTALLY want to know those people and go to their wedding. They seem like fun, and like she wasn’t a bridezilla or something.

  11. LostMarbles Says:

    I’ve been bottling this up at every other place I’ve seen it because I’m not into shitting on other people’s favourite new carpet. All this video does for me is reinforce my conviction that I’m never going to have a wedding. Whether you do the whole srsbusiness wedding or the “fun, hip” wedding, you’ll still look like a fucking idiot and be wasting people’s time. I guess I suck at the whole being romantic thing.


  12. Dude,
    I thought it was cool that they had fun with it. far too many people get caught up with having a perfect wedding and don’t give a shit about the marriage—these people have a sense of humor, even if also a bit of attention whoring.
    In any case, like having an elaborately planned (conventional/solemn) wedding and putting it on tape isn’t self-aggrandizing bullshit to begin with.


  13. I’m with Anonymoustache. It’s just a question of which self-aggrandizing bullshit you’re accustomed to. Let me see whether these people registered for thousands of dollars worth of ugly tchotchkes before I decide whether to despise them or not.


  14. They seem to be a cool couple – they did not expect this video to become popular and are now donating proceeds to a good charity:
    http://www.jkweddingdance.com/
    See also this, for more info:
    http://open.salon.com/blog/future_of_journalism/2009/07/31/wedding_dance_video_yup_theres_a_lesson
    and a video-response:
    http://www.collegehumor.com/video:1918152

  15. Sven DiMilo Says:

    Ex-wife #2 e’ed me this and thought it was the greatest thing ever. I reacted exactly like Comrade PP. First, I could barely make it through the whole thing because I found the “music” so fucking obnoxious (I think it’s one of those “ass-shaking jams” you read about), and for another thing it’s a bunch of white people affecting sunglasses.

    Call me a stick-in-the-mud curmudgeon but it hurt my eye-rolling muscles.


  16. I thought you said you didn’t have any cheese.

  17. Katie Says:

    Painful. Forget 10 years from now – I bet they’re embarrassed to watch it 10 days from now.

    I did, however, watch the entire clip. Kind of like a train wreck – I couldn’t look away.

  18. Pennsylvaniac Says:

    Imbeciles.

    I place the curse of Xenu upon them.

  19. uberfugg Says:

    even a mutant like me thinks weddings aren’t a joke for youtube.


Leave a Reply

