Diaper Cake!?!? That’s Just Fucking Wrong!!

May 30, 2008

A phenomenon has recently come to PhysioProf’s attention that is so sick, so heinous, so foul, so demented, so fucking wrong, that I am left almost speechless. This is the practice of creating diaper cakes as gifts or ornaments for baby showers. Now don’t get me wrong; I love babies, and baby showers are very wonderful events.

But the words “diaper” and “cake” do not belong in the same fucking noun phrase! They do not belong in the same sentence! They do not even belong in the same godforsaken paragraph!

Cakes are beautiful, delicious, sweet confectionary delights. Diapers are rags for soaking up baby shit. Diapers and cakes do not belong together!! Diaper cake is an abomination, a blight on humankind, a horror of epic proportions!

(WARNING: Photographs of these sick, twisted products of the darkest, dankest corners of the human imagination are below the fold.)

41 Responses to “Diaper Cake!?!? That’s Just Fucking Wrong!!”


  1. they could at least make them out of cloth diapers…

  2. Interrobang Says:

    Considering that I still can’t figure out why anybody voluntarily gets (or stays) pregnant, I think I’ve got at least another several levels of “How wrong is that?!” going on. Thanks!

  3. drdrA Says:

    I’ve been the happy recipient of one such diaper cake…

  4. Katie Says:

    Wow – that first one is quite impressive. The ones my mom makes are much smaller. I’ve really tried to understand why you would call a gift made of useful baby items “abomination, a blight on humankind, a horror of epic proportions.” You’re thinking it too hard, kiddo. “Chill the Fuck Out.”

  5. julia Says:

    I guess this isn’t the time to talk to you about tampon angels, then.


  6. They seem like a giant waste of time.

    Yet, I would kill to need one.

  7. Iron Gator Says:

    Much of what women do as Women is unfathomable to Men. Most of it should remain so. I am pushing 60, and have never seen the inside of a woman’s purse, even when the owner was my rebellious female offspring. I have never wanted to be a “fly on the wall” and know what women say among themselves.

    Roll through the cable channels. Any time, day or night, SOME woman is pushing a kid down the chute. This is NOT a process you want to see, or especially hear, and I heartily admonish young fathers-to-be to be sure that, as Delivery nears, you know where there’s a dark, smoky bar near the hospital.

    Duck out after 10 or 12 hours of hollering…tell them you’re going for more videotape…and slip a Nurse $20 to call you on your cell when the grunting and sweating is over.

    There’s Stuff They DO and Stuff We Do. Overlap is largely unnecessary and counterproductive.

  8. Beaker Says:

    Chocolate cake? Lemon cake? eeeewwww!


  9. Presenting expectant parents with a diaper cake at a baby shower may involve presuming you know what diapering choice (disposable or cloth, cloth washed at home or cloth from a service) the parents-to-be have made. Getting that wrong can at times provoke shitstorms which make the ugliest politics-centered fights pale by comparison.

    Also, if I’m pregnant enough to be the guest of honor at a baby shower, there had better damn well be an actual cake available — preferably one filled with mousse and covered with ganache.

  10. Ann Brock Says:

    I gave my daughter a baby shower in 2006 and one of the girls wanted to make a diaper cake. That was the 1st time I heard of such a cake. You know some stores do sell them.

  11. Fe Says:

    That is the best thing I have heard all dau, and the fact that it freaks you out makes it even better! This is so much better for the over-all psyche of the world than baby-cake. Thanks!

  12. acmegirl Says:

    “Duck out after 10 or 12 hours of hollering…tell them you’re going for more videotape…and slip a Nurse $20 to call you on your cell when the grunting and sweating is over.”

    I’m sure hubby is thanking his lucky stars he didn’t take that advice. It would cost him a lot more than $20 to get off the couch after a stunt like that. If I have to go through the process of “pushing a kid down the chute” the least my partner can do is be there with me for moral support. Especially since he got to enjoy the up the chute part of the action.

    And seriously, it’s not like your balls are going to shrivel up if you so much as look at a tampon. Or find out a little bit about what goes on at a baby shower. Grow up, boys!

    That said, I would not want to receive one of those bubblegum colored monstrosities. Just give a gift certificate if the mom to be didn’t register.

  13. littlem Says:

    I’m sure hubby is thanking his lucky stars he didn’t take that advice. It would cost him a lot more than $20 to get off the couch after a stunt like that. If I have to go through the process of “pushing a kid down the chute” the least my partner can do is be there with me for moral support. Especially since he got to enjoy the up the chute part of the action.

    And seriously, it’s not like your balls are going to shrivel up if you so much as look at a tampon. Or find out a little bit about what goes on at a baby shower. Grow up, boys!

    *smirk*

    I believe the proper approbation would be:

    Word to your Mother.

    And Father.

  14. Lemur Says:

    60 years old and you’ve never seen the inside of a woman’s purse? “Overlap is largely unnecessary and counterproductive”? WTF is that about? Women aren’t, like, this alien species. I don’t carry any flesh eating bacteria or fresh human organs in my purse, last I checked. I think the more we understand each other, the better. And you, Giant Woman-Fearing Weenie Gator? …You exist because “some woman” pushed you “down the chute”. Gods, you’d think someone your age would’ve grown up by now.
    But those cakes? Both sacchrine and disturbing.

  15. Po Says:

    Yum Yum

  16. Jessica Says:

    Your a fucking idiot! What the fuck do you care if somebody makes a diaper cake? Did you eat shit once thinking it was chocolate? Go right a blog about something people actually care about.


  17. […] 12, 2008 “Jessica” says in her recent comment: Your a fucking idiot! What the fuck do you care if somebody makes a diaper cake? Did you eat shit […]

  18. Muse142 Says:

    I know this is probably a silly thing, but for my own mental health…

    Iron Gator is a monumental misogynistic douchehound.

    Thhhank you.

    Oh, and yeah, diaper cakes, creepy a little bit. lol.

  19. skittlekitten Says:

    Wow, you need to chill out! I recieved one as a gift and they are wonderful. It is a cute way to give diapers as a gift. Its not like the diaper has poop or anything in it. You are pretty childish. I dont think you should use the word “fuck” so much.

  20. Abacrys Says:

    interrobang… it’s unfortunate that your mother didn’t share the same view on pregnancy that you do.

  21. Abacrys Says:

    P.S. to hypoglycemiagirl… do you have any fucking idea how much a cloth-diaper cake of that magnitude would cost???


  22. I think there may be something more heinous than the diaper cake. Check out the sonogram cake.

  23. terrifiedtabetic Says:

    that’s really fucking annoying.


  24. The word FUCKING is best used when your legs are facing East and West. I guess it is safe to say that no one has ever performed oral sex on you? Because lets face it …If diapers are only for shit and piss, then the human mouth is strictly for eating and talking!! Take a chill pill girl.

  25. Amber Says:

    They CAN be made out of cloth diapers. They’re generally made out of whatever the recipient prefers.

  26. Amber Says:

    Most who make diapers cakes (such as myself) figure out the parental preference before making said cake in terms of the diapers used. I would not make a disposable diaper cake if the parents were cloth diapering.

  27. eastcoastbitches Says:

    WHAT ARE YOU FROM NORTH DAKOTA???

  28. Anonymous Says:

    It is not like it is full of shitty diapers. it is a great, functional gift for a new mother.. get over yourself…

  29. marie Says:

    its just meant to be a centre peice, and whats the difference between calling it a diaper cake or buying something called icecream cake, its just a name, who gives a crap, there cute, moms to be love them and its a cheap way to decorate

  30. Anonymous Says:

    Do you not have anything better to smack on!? even reading the title of this….i was wondering what the heck your problem is. if you dont like it…then dont ever do it. its just a fun way to send wonderful gifts. how creative. do people run around blogging about what you create? just because its a diaper cake….doesnt mean you have to eat it. my goodness. please find something better to talk about. im not saying i care what you write about….but for you….seems like you’re angry at the world.

  31. ginger Says:

    “Do people run around blogging about what you create?”

    Oh, random googling drive-by zombie-thread commenter, you have no idea.

    “Do you not have anything better to smack on!?”

    Oh, random googling drive-by zombie-thread commenter, you have no idea.

    “Seems like you’re angry at the world.”

    Oh, random googling drive-by – eh, to hell with it.

  32. Dana Says:

    Oh dear, some women are sick-minded. It goes against every fiber in a real woman’s body not to want children.

    I’ll bet you’re overjoyed your Mother didn’t have the same cold, cruel attitude as you? lol

  33. ginger Says:

    Oh, AWESOME. Please, please, CPP, take notice of Dana’s stellar drive-by.

  34. Anonymous Says:

    I agree! They are wonderful gifts…I got one 2 months ago and i loved it! Now im making one for a family member. Also….like really…you must be 12 to be talking and thinking like that you idiot. Grow up.
    P.S. You’re so fucking stupid that i am left speechless!! hahahahahaha you idiot!

  35. BrownEyes Says:

    I just spent three hours yesterday watching videos of how to make diaper cakes; then I see your comment about how horrible such an idea of a gift this is. Maybe it’s just that now one ever took the time to make you such a beautiful gift. Watch a video, make one, give one as a gift, then see the reaction. Everyone loves it.

  36. Marie Whitney Says:

    OMG, give me a fucking break! Why do people have to steal the joy from others. Diaper cake is causing you dumb asses to be like this then, you must have come from the place my parents come from that made me feel like trash when I had a menstruation and told me I was nasty for talking to boys. Get a life!! Go get laid real good and keep your minds off the petty shit. It’s a part of the beautiful shower decoration. I guess for my wedding shower, it will be against God to give me adult Toys? I want lots of them too!!!!
    I am making at this moment………………….Yaaaaaaay! Poop in your face for all you fuckers who are against the diaper cake. So much more important shit in the world to be against. Hahahahaha!
    Unhappy fuckers!!!!

  37. Anonymous Says:

    to who ever posted the original comment. grow up, wash your mouth with a bar of soap. parents to be need things and people have to make boring events (baby showers)somewhat different and “fun” to bear. get over it..?

  38. Anonymous Says:

    I want one to send to my newbaby niece. I live in Germany, and it would cost a million to ship it…but make me incredibly happy to make it for her and my niece.

  39. Cat Simpson Says:

    Who cares! I for one would not want to use disposable diapers that are not factory packaged on a child. Gross! Manhandled and could have been assembled in a dirt environment. A home of a childless distant cousin with 15 cats with fleas or a hoarder. To each there own, but if I ever have a child please just buy me diapers and stick a bow on the box, Done! Better yet I would like a true mommy gift like free babysitting or a spa day!

  40. Anonymous Says:

    Nice language

  41. Patrick Says:

    The Ultimate Diaper Cake

    Anyone seeking a truly original and authentic diaper cake idea that will be unforgettable and that will leave the attendees of your next baby shower open- mouthed and awestruck, check out the book “The Diaper Galleon” by P.B. Le-Roy on Amazon. It takes diaper cakes to the next level in terms of artistry and creativity. Guaranteed to impress and astonish the crowd.


Leave a comment