Wackaloon Fucking Cat Foibles

June 8, 2008

Can someone please explain to me why cats love to walk up to me and bang their fucking heads into my goddamn shin? And one shin isn’t enough for these wackaloon motherfuckers. They gotta do one shin, and then the other. What the fuck’s up with that shit?

10 Responses to “Wackaloon Fucking Cat Foibles”

  1. Fixer Says:

    Look at the bright side, they don’t pee on yer leg. Heh … I’m a dog guy, who knows from cats?

  2. Brigindo Says:

    It’s affection. Or they’re smelling you. Or both.

  3. Cat Ion Says:

    They’re getting their scent on you as a way of marking their territory. Or so I’ve read.

    Personally, I’m flattered when a cat does it to me. Is that weird?


  4. Mostly I’m impressed by their impeccable timing–typically when they pull this stunt I am carrying something large and heavy, or fragile, or on fire, or similar.

  5. Helen Says:

    Cats have a scent gland under the chin. Kittens rub their foreheads under their mother’s chin to get their scent on them and to hopefully get her to feed them. So when your cat does the head-butt whatever part of you is handy thing, he’s saying,

    1. I wuvs you mommy

    and

    2. Feed me dammit

  6. Helen Says:

    J&H, that’s supposedly because when you’re carrying a large box or something you most resemble mommy’s head sticking out in front of mommy’s neck.

    More likely, it’s, “I want to see you kneel, peon, and I’ll trip you if I have to.”

  7. rehctaw Says:

    They’re trying to knock you down so they can establish their dominance. Once you accept them as superior they’ll leave you alone.

  8. larue Says:

    I think cats just think yer hot.
    Bask in the love.

  9. MissPrism Says:

    In our coevolutionary past, a cat who butted only one of the shins of its caveman owner could cause asymmetric bruising.
    The slight asymmetry lessened the attractiveness of those cavemen with single shin-butting cats, leading to less status and food for both caveman and cavecat. This is why today’s cats bump both shins evenly.

    It’s also a little known fact that cavecats would contribute to human hunting expeditions by attempting to trip ostriches on steep ground. The cat’s instinct for winding round your legs on the stairs is a relic of that evolutionary past.

  10. Cat Says:

    When I do yoga, my cat rubs up against every bit he can reach. It is funny watching him trying to mark me all over.

    Until I fall over during a balance posture because he is trying to rub my nonsupporting leg, which is usually a foot or two in the air.


Leave a comment